Hurricanes Extend Ruutu

The Carolina Hurricanes announced they have resigned forward Tuomo Ruutu to a 4-year, $19M contract.  The deal has an average salary hit of $4.75M per season.

Tuomo Ruutu has played great for the Hurricanes over the past five seasons.  He can do it all: play physically, play solidly defensively, and contribute offensively.  So far in 57 games this season, Ruutu has scored 17 goals and added 13 assists for a total of 30 points.

The Hurricanes are out of this year’s playoff picture sitting at the bottom of the Eastern Conference, but expect them to place higher over the next few years.  If they are able to get into the playoffs and win a round or two, it’ll not just be because of Cam Ward or Eric Staal, but also because of what Ruutu brings to the team.  Along with Ward and Staal, Ruutu brings leadership to the Hurricanes locker room and leads by example both on and off the ice.

Ruutu spoke on signing the four-year extension.  He said, “Most of all, the people – on my team, in this organization and Raleigh overall; I like being here, and I really think we have a good future.   I’ve still felt comfortable throughout the whole process. I’ve been sure about what I wanted to do, and I’m really happy that they wanted to have me here.”  He later went on to say, “For me, a really big thing is that we have great team chemistry.  We have great guys, guys that really care. I think that’s the only way we can win, and I know we have it in here, so I’m excited to stay.”

This takes Ruutu’s name off the rumor blocks as it was report the Hurricanes were potentially shopping him.  Carolina realized how much of an asset he was to the team and would be irreplaceable if he was actually traded.  In the end, the Hurricanes made the right move in extending Tuomo Ruutu.

More to Come..

Follow me on Twitter for exclusive news & content!

This entry was posted in News, Trades, & Signings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment