Malkin Dominates the 2012 NHL Awards

Yet another season has come and gone but wouldn’t end until the annual Award showcase held in Las Vegas.

Evgeni Malkin, who registered 50 goals and 59 assists for 109 total points, left Las Vegas with a lot more hardware than he came with.  Malkin collected his Art Ross Trophy for registering the most points in the league.  He also won both the Ted Lindsay Award, MVP voted by the NHLPA, and the Hart Trophy, as the league’s MVP voted by the writers.  Malkin was stunned he was able to win both and claimed it was the best day of his life.

Steven Stamkos finished a distant second in both the Ted Lindsay and Hart Trophies but was still able to walk home with some hardware.  Stamkos picked up his Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy for scoring the most goals in the league.  Stamkos led the league in goal scoring for the second time in his career, netting 60 this past season.  He is only the second player since 1998 to score 60 goals in a season.

Henrik Lundqvist also failed to win the Ted Lindsay and Hart Trophies, but still had one more chance to win an award.  He was nominated for the Vezina Trophy as the league’s best goaltender which he won.  Lundqvist was dominate this season, leading his New York Rangers to the top of the Eastern Conference picking up 39 wins, 8 shutouts, and posting a 1.97 GAA.

The Senator’s Erik Karlsson won the James Norris Memorial Trophy as the league’s best defenseman beating out Zdeno Chara and Shea Weber.  He dominated the league offensively with 78 total points this season and playing a big role for the Senators in their playoff run.

Ken Hitchcock of the St. Louis Blues won the Jack Adams Award as the league’s top coach.  He turned the Blues team around this season going 43-15-11 after taking over the team in November.  A great deal of the Blue’s success came from their strong goaltending.  In recognition, Brian Elliot and Jaroslav Halak co-won the William M. Jennings Trophy for having the lowest combined goals against average (GAA).

In a very close race, Gabriel Landeskog beat out Adam Henrique and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins for the Calder Trophy.  Landeskog was solid for the Avalanche all season scoring 22 goals and 52 total points this season.  Even more incredible, Landeskog did this all while being 18 years old.

Max Pacioretty won the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to the sport.  Last season, he was on the receiving end of a very hard hit from Zdeno Chara that landed him into the a pole by the bench.  Many people feared this would be a spinal injury and his career was going to be over, but Pacioretty battled back.  He got healthy and set career highs this season in goals, assists, and points.

Other trophies won include Patrice Bergeron (Frank J. Selke Trophy as the league’s best defensive forward), Daniel Alfredsson (King Clancy Trophy for his humanitarian contribution to hockey), and Brian Campbell (Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for the combination of skill and sportsmanship).

EA Sports revealed Claude Giroux would cover the their NHL13 video game.

More to Come..

Follow me on Twitter for exclusive news & content!

This entry was posted in News, Trades, & Signings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s